Nintendo Direct Sept 1st Thoughts

Been a while isn’t it? Apologies if I haven’t been updating this blog but I figure now is as good a time as ever. On September 1st, Nintendo had a Direct that was specifically focused on the 3DS. There was a lot that they covered and it’s crazy. I’ll go through what they covered with my thoughts on them. There’s so much so expect it a big one.

Pokemon Sun & Moon
They show off some new stuff such as the Alolan Rattata. It’s a Dark-type but I’m more curious what Alolan Raticate will look like. There’ll also be a special Munchlax Mystery Gift when the game comes out on November 18th. Evolve it to Snorlax and then you can use him to unleash his own signature Z-Move. Too bad it ended up being a hilarious move but seeing Snorlax ready to kick butt is satisfying.

Super Mario Maker for 3DS
I didn’t really think we’re getting a port of this for the 3DS. We can create levels just like in the Wii U version but the difference is that there are some stuff excluded from the Wii U version such as Mystery Mushrooms. In addition to send levels to others, it’s via wireless, not online. There are also 100 new courses with medals. Truthfully there should be online but instead we’ll get collaborations where you can work together with friends to create interesting levels. It’s coming out December 2nd.

Mario Party Star Rush
The direct showed us Toad Scramble, a fast paced mode where you use Toads to move around, gather allies, compete in mini games, etc. I don’t mind it since it help make things interesting. We also get to see some new different modes you can play with friends and it also has Amiibo support. There’ll be local wireless and online play. It comes out November 4th.

Animal Crossing New Leaf
Didn’t expect this. The game’s getting a new update that’s going to include Amiibo support. I haven’t touched the game in a LONG time so maybe this may convince me to go back. New Amiibo cards will be coming as well and the update’s release is in the holiday season.

Streetpass Mii Plaza
It’s getting some new stuff. You can encounter up to 100 players and 5 new games are coming along with the update. You can choose one of two for free and the others will be available in a bundle discount. It’s released right now so make sure you get it. I did and I like it.

Tank Troopers
I was a bit skeptical about this game. You operate tanks and depending on who uses it can have different abilities and attributes. Plus there’s 6-player action with local and online. Pretty interesting. It’s coming out in Winter so we’ll see.

Picross 3D Round 2
I don’t play it because it’s complex but this one has 300 courses and Amiibo functionality that provide interesting puzzles. It’s already out.

Nindies Summer Jam
All through the month of September on Thursday, several Indie titles will be released at a discounted price. A good opportunity for people to get their hands on them. They are as follows.

September 1st – Axiom Verge (Wii U)
September 8th – Jotun: Valhalla Edition (Wii U)
September 15th – Noitu Love: Devolution (Wii U and 3DS)
September 22nd – Severed (Wii U)
September 29th – Azure Striker Gunvolt 2 (3DS)

Take a guess what I look forward to.

NES Mini & Classic Link Amiibo
This is fitting since I do am looking forward to getting the NES Mini. The bigger focus are the Classic Link Amiibo that are coming December 2nd. They consist of 8-bit Link, Ocarina of Time Link, Wind Waker Link and Wind Waker Zelda. They’ll be functional with Breath of the Wild. What they’ll do is unknown.

Hyrule Warriors Legends DLC Pack 3
They showed off a new trailer involving the next DLC for the game: Phantom Hourglass & Spirit Tracks. Toon Link gets a new weapon, the Sand Rod and it also allows him to use his train from Spirit Tracks to deal damage. In addition, a new character Toon Zelda appears and she uses the phantom knight from Spirit Tracks to deal damage. Pretty cool. It’s out now and the season pass is available at a discount.

Ace Attorney: Spirit of Justice
You guys know I’m covering it when it comes out. Some of the stuff are things we already know. September 8th… it’s go time.

Dragon Quest VII & VIII
I’m honestly surprised that we’re getting Dragon Quest VII & VIII. This is too good. Best thing about it is that DQ7 is getting remade from the ground up. I’m hyped. Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past is releasing on September 16th. Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King is coming 2017. So hyped. It makes me want to get into the Dragon Quest games.

Yo-Kai Watch 2: Bony Spirits & Fleshy Souls
I never played a Yo-Kai Watch game. I’ll be honest with you but seeing all the hype for it courtesy of YouTuber AbdallahSmash026 is making me convince myself otherwise. It’s interesting and involving time travel and learning about the Yo-Kai war will be sweet. Not to mention it has version exclusive Yo-Kai whereas if you preorder the game, you can get some special medals where Jibanyan can learn some new stuff. Pretty awesome. Both versions come out September 30th but how much you want to bet they’ll also release the third version down the line.

Disney Magical World 2
This game doesn’t interest me since well, it comes out October 14th. If you buy the game, you’ll get your hands on new character outfits.

Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice
This franchise doesn’t have a good reputation. Let’s not speak about Rise of Lyric or Shattered Crystal since they kind of caused the comic book tie in to be canned. It’s about Fire & Ice and I’ve seen a trailer for it. It’s acceptable at best but I don’t know if it’ll be enough to save it. Only time will tell because at least its better than the previous two games. It comes out September 27th.

Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse
It’s available for pre-purchase but I’ve seen footage of it and for an RPG game, it’s pretty fun. I may give it a shot. It comes out September 20th.

Yoshi’s Woolly World 3DS
I didn’t really think we’d be getting a 3DS port of this. I didn’t play the Wii U one but I heard people liked it. Maybe this can convince me. Who knows but we’re getting new amiibo along with it, including a VERY CUTE Poochy Yarn Amiibo. My lord. It’s so cute. Not to mention stop motion segments. We’re getting them too. This is coming out next year. I’m hyped.

Ever Oasis
I’ve heard about it during the E3 Direct. Hopefully after seeing more, I may give this game a chance. It comes out next year so I hope it delivers. Pretty interesting.

Mario Sports Superstars
Now THIS is going to be a game I will look forward to playing. Contains five different games to enjoy like baseball, tennis, soccer, golf and horse racing. Comes out Spring 2017 and you can play offline or online. Adds a lot of replayability to boot.

Pikmin 3DS
I don’t know whether to be excited or worried. I am happy we’re getting a new Pikmin game but this is unexpected. The only thing I hope for is that people will give it a shot and from what I’ve seen, I’m pleased to hear. It’s coming 2017 and I really am looking forward to it. At least it’s a spinoff, thankfully. Can’t say the same for Metroid though.

That’s pretty much it. It’s a long one and honestly, I wish it could be longer. Hope to hear what you guys think of it.

Leave a Reply

